Ford Fiesta ST Forum banner

Ford Fiesta wins Rally America 2WD National Championship

1748 Views 3 Replies 3 Participants Last post by  S2r
From Ford Racing Rally News - articles | Reeves Wins LSPR To Clinch 2WD Rally America Championship | The Official Site of Ford Racing |
Reeves Wins LSPR To Clinch 2WD Rally America Championship
OCT. 19, 2013
Houghton, Mich. – A first place finish in class, and fourth outright, at Lake Superior Performance Rally (LSPR) was enough for Brendan Reeves and Rhianon Gelsomino to clinch the two-wheel-drive (2WD) Rally America National Championship, Ford Fiesta’s second consecutive.
“To win such a close championship is really great,” said Reeves. “I like the high pressure. We put everything on the line and the car preformed for us. Rhianon did a great job also on the notes so I’m very proud of what we were able to accomplish.”

For Reeves and Gelsomino, a class win at LSPR was all they needed to win the 2WD title, however, their battle against Andrew Comrie-Picard and Jeremy Wimpey came down to the final stage where the Ford team was able to take the lead by six seconds for the win.

“Yeah, at this rally the lead changed about seven times,” said Reeves. “Last night we took a bit of time out of them so we felt comfortable going in today and they just threw it back at us.

“It was helpful that our car is very exceptional on slower grounds,” Reeves added. “They tried to slow us down so we threw everything we could into the stages and then we came back in the last stage to take nine seconds out of ACP to win. It’s just a great feeling.”

The Team O’Neil Ford Fiesta sat on top of the 2WD podium for its fifth consecutive rally, giving the Australian duo a perfect record in the series having won every event they entered. Reeves’ five consecutive class wins helped to tally 11 podium appearances for Ford Fiesta this season which clinched the 2WD Manufacturers’ Championship for Ford.

“We set out to come and do one rally at the start of the year,” said Reeves. “And now we’ve won five in a row and come home with the title in two-wheel-drive and was able to be a part of helping Ford get the 2WD Manufacturers’ Championship. It’s really unbelievable.

“Team O’Neil Motorsports have been really great to work with,” added Reeves. “And we’ve built a strong relationship with Ford through this experience that we hope will continue.”

For Ken Block and Alex Gelsomino, their winner-take-all battle against defending champions, Subaru’s David Higgins and Craig Drew ended abruptly after a multi-rotation roll on stage 12 ultimately forced an early retirement from the rally.

“I’m gutted with how today ended,” said Block. “We were really charging hard today and were actively closing the gap on David [Higgins]. Unfortunately I didn’t have that corner marked in my notes as dangerous and I was going flat out. I got caught out, it sucks, it’s definitely not how I wanted to end the season, especially with the championship within reach. But, that’s how racing goes some days. Luckily both Alex and I are ok and hopefully we’ll be back to contest for the championship again next season.”

Despite the tragic end to the season, the Hoonigan Racing Division Ford Fiesta HFHV duo conclude 2013 second overall in the national championship with three consecutive first place finishes and a tallied 51 stage wins of a possible 115.


Lake Superior Performance Rally
(2WD) 1st Reeves/Gelsomino

Ojibwe Forests Rally
(Overall) 1st Block/Gelsomino & 3rd Reeves/Gelsomino
(2WD) 1st Reeves/Gelsomino

New England Forest Rally
(Overall) 1st Block/Gelsomino
(2WD) 1st Reeves/Gelsomino

Susquehannock Trail
(Overall) 1st Block/Gelsomino
2WD) 1st Reeves/Gelsomino & 3rd VanWay/Edwards

Oregon Trail
(Overall) 2nd Block/Gelsomino
(2WD) 1st Reeves/Gelsomino & 2nd VanWay/Edwards

Rally in the 100 Acre Wood
(2WD) 2nd McNelly/Holter & 3rd O’Neil/Hanson

(2WD) 2nd VanWay/Edwards & 3rd McNelly/Holter

Year Driver Car Wins/Podiums
2009 Dillon Van Way 2002 Ford Focus 2 / 7
2012 Chris Duplessis 2012 Ford Fiesta R2 4 / 5
2013 Brendan Reeves 2013 Ford Fiesta R2 5 / 5
The next season of Rally America National Championship starts January 24-25, 2014 in Atlanta, Michigan at Sno*Drift Rally.

Brandon and I were there with the 2014 Ford Fiesta ST filming for an upcoming Fiesta Movement mission video. We crewed for Lucy Block and her Team O'Neil/MSport Fiesta R2. Expect a lot more pictures, video, and other content from our trip to LSPR over the next few weeks.

LSPR 2013 024 by Bryan Redeker BRGT350, on Flickr
See less See more
1 - 1 of 4 Posts
Way to go. Also is anybody surprised that Block rolled again? Seems to be his trademark.
1 - 1 of 4 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.